

### Association of Information Technology Professionals

Education Special Interest Group (EDSIG)



#### EDSIG 2009 Officers

President Tom Janicki Univ of NC Wilmington

Past President Don Colton Brigham Young – Hawaii

Vice President Ken Grant Ryerson University

Membership Alan Peslak Penn State University

Secretary Wendy Ceccucci Quinniapiac University

Treasurer Kathleen Kelm Edgewood College

JISE Editor Albert L Harris Appalachian State Univ

Directors:

George Nezlek Grand Valley State Univ

Steve Reames Angelo State University

Patricia Sendall Merrimack College

Li-Jen Shannon

Sam Houston State Univ Michael Smith

High Point University

FITE Liaison Kevin Jetton Texas State University

ISECON 2009 Chair Paul Leidig Grand Valley State Univ

## Welcome to ISECON/CONISAR 2009

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

We are excited to be in Washington DC this year and having you as part of this year's conference. Given the budget situation at many of our schools we are happy to announce that more presenters are scheduled to be at ISECON/CONISAR 2009 than last year!

It has been a busy year for EDSIG, as we continue to grow in membership as well as our more initiatives on our primary mission of helping educators improve their skills and advance their careers. For many of us, ISECON and CONISAR is a place to recharge our batteries and get some new insights into the way things could be. Besides the conference EDSIG has been working with AITP and FITE to work together to increase the quality of our graduates and our programs.

A conference of this size is the work of many individuals, we (the EDSIG board) would like to thank the following leaders of the conference who work tirelessly to help all of us improve our research capabilities. Kevin Jetton is the conference facilities chair and works tireless to insure your experience is first class. Paul Leidig the ISECON chair has championed us coming to DC and along with Wendy Ceccucci who both have worked at more than constant meetings as they have coordinated all the fun events into the program. Alan Peslak the CONSIAR chair (and overall program scheduling guru) worked hard to continue to grow CONIAR (we have 35% more papers in CONISAR this year than 2008). George Nezlek spearheaded our first PhD Symposium on Thursday.

The papers, panels, workshop and case teams work hard to insure higher quality papers each year. Special thanks to Scott Hunsinger, Li-Jen Shannon and Mike Smith to assist the effort in 2009I. All of them were first year volunteers. Don Colton continues to work tirelessly as our editor for the proceedings and both ISEDJ and JISAR.

A first for 2009 will be our 'charter' class of EDSIG fellows, these are individuals who have consistently supported the mission of EDSIG and we thank them for getting us to our 26<sup>th</sup> year. They will be honored on Friday night, please be there to say thank you. Coordinating the effort to get them to DC is Pat Sendall, she worked hard at organizing this first class.

President

Tom Janicki

Past President

Vice President

Don Colton

Ken Grant Ryerson University

Membership

Alan Peslak

Secretary

Treasurer Kathleen Kelm Edgewood College

JISE Editor Albert L Harris Appalachian State Univ

Directors:

George Nezlek Grand Valley State Univ

Steve Reames

Wendy Ceccucci

# aitp

**EDSIG 2009 Officers** 

Univ of NC Wilmington

Brigham Young - Hawaii

Penn State University

Quinniapiac University

### Association of Information Technology Professionals

### Education Special Interest Group (EDSIG)



Finally I would be amiss without mentioning Al Harris. Al is the editor of JISE (Journal of Information Systems Educators Journal). After many years of dedicated service Al has decided to retire as editor of the journal. Al was instrumental in improving the quality and reputation of the journal. We will miss your leadership, but know you have left a first class legacy. Please join me in thanking Al for all he has (and will) do.

We are always looking for more volunteers, so please step up with your unique talents. Finally, put Nashville Tennessee on your calendar for October 28-31, 2010.

Again thank you for being here, sharing your experiences and we hope to see all of you in Nashville in 2010.

Tom Janicki, University of North Carolina Wilmington 2009 EDSIG President

Angelo State University

Patricia Sendall Merrimack College

Li-Jen Shannon Sam Houston State Univ

Michael Smith High Point University

FITE Liaison Kevin Jetton Texas State University

ISECON 2009 Chair Paul Leidig Grand Valley State Univ

AITP: http://www.aitp.org | EDSIG: http://www.aitp-edsig.org